Lok Sabha Elections 2024: In 2019, Congress couldn’t win any of the 58 seats voting in phase 6 today, BJP won 40

As many as 58 seats across eight states and Union Territories (UTs) are voting in the sixth and penultimate phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024 today, May 25. All 10 seats of Haryana and seven seats of Delhi are voting in this round of polling. 

Elections to 486 of the 543 Lok Sabha seats will be over by the end of phase 6 polling today. The remaining 57 seats will vote in the last phase on June 1. The results of the seven-phase general elections will be declared on June 4. 

Also Read: Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Pitched capital battle on 7 Delhi seats in phase 6 polling today

Among the prominent candidates in the fray today are Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders Maneka Gandhi (Sultanpur), Manoj Tiwari (North East Delhi), Naveen Jindal (Kurukshetra), and Manohar Lal Khattar (Karnal). 

Raj Babbar (Gurgaon) and Kanhaiya Kumar (North East Delhi) are the prominent Congress candidates in the fray today.

Congress won zero seats in 2019

In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, among the 58 seats polling today in the sixth phase, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) had won 45 seats. The parties in the opposition INDIA bloc could win just 5 seats. 

To break it further, the BJP had won 40 of these seats in 2019. And the Congress could not win a single of these seats. Instead, the 5 INDIA bloc seats in 2019 were won by the Trinamool Congress (TMC), the Jammu and Kashmir National Conference (NC) and the Samajwadi Party (SP).

Also Read: Kashmir news: PDP’s Mehbooba Mufti faces high-stakes battle in redrawn Anantnag-Rajouri seat in Phase 6 polling today

The NDA parties polled 51.36 per cent of the votes while INDIA bloc parties, including the Congress, polled 28.66 per cent of  votes in these seats in 2019. The BJP bagged over 40 per cent vote share on at least 47 of these seats, according to a report in India Today

In 2014, the NDA won 39 of these seats while the INDIA bloc parties bagged 11 seats. Other parties won eight remaining seats then.

Capital Contest

All eyes will be on Delhi today, as seven seats of the national capital are voting in the sixth and penultimate phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024.

The contest in the national capital has become interesting as it is a direct fight between the BJP and INDIA bloc parties – the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). 

Also Read: Lok Sabha election 2024 phase 6: From Maneka Gandhi to Sambit Patra; key candidates in fray. All details

The Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP is contesting four seats while the Congress has fielded candidates in three seats as per the seat-sharing agreement. The BJP, which won all 7 seats of Delhi in 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections, has dropped all but one Members of Parliament (MP) for the 2024 elections.

The Lok Sabha election in Delhi took an interesting turn when the Enforcement Directorate arrested Kejriwal in the alleged Delhi Liquor policy scam on March 21, only to be released on interim bail on May 10, raising the stakes of the campaign. The BJP won all seven seats of Delhi in 2014 and 2019. 

You are on Mint! India’s #1 news destination (Source: Press Gazette). To learn more about our business coverage and market insights Click Here!

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


Published: 25 May 2024, 05:12 AM IST

Source link

Discover more from Khabar Ok News

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from Khabar Ok News

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading